Thursday, September 24, 2009

Ron Mahay wins not-really-all-that-coveted 13th Year Player Award

From the Wait 'til this Year Humor Vault

Ron Mahay, shown here in the midst of one of his many average-to-slightly below average outings.

NEW YORK--Rookie of the Year. Cy Young. MVP.

These are the annual baseball awards that get all the attention and hoopla. But the baseball world shouldn't forget (or maybe it should) about the 13th Year Player Award, an honor bestowed upon the best player who happens to be in his 13th year in the majors.

Twins reliever Ron Mahay was announced as the winner of this, uh, prestigious award earlier today. Mahay has had a so-so season, going 2-1 with a 4.53 ERA and five holds. He spent most of the season with the Royals, but was released and subsequently signed by the Twins in August.

Mahay was clearly honored by the distinction, saying, "I won what now?"

The Illinois native follows in the footsteps of other baseball greats players who have won the award, including Mets reliever Elmer Dessens and Phillies infielder Matt Stairs.

Mahay had to fend off several other non-household names, including:
  • Henry Blanco, C, Padres--batting .235 with five home runs
  • Aaron Boone, IF, Astros--underwent open-heart surgery in March
  • Frank Catalanotto, OF, Brewers--1 home run, 9 RBI
  • Glendon Rusch, RP, Rockies--Said MLB Commissioner Bud Selig, "There's no doubt in my mind he would have gotten a lot more votes had any of the sportswriters been aware of the fact that he is still playing baseball."
Also kind of worth noting: Giants pitcher Randy Johnson is the winner of the 21st Year Player Award, and Phillies pitcher Jamie Moyer beat out absolutely no one to take home the 24th Year Player Award.

Said Moyer, "Jesus, I've been playing for twenty-four years? This is ridiculous. I retire."

No comments:

Post a Comment