Thursday, March 18, 2010

Things you didn't know you didn't know about the NCAA Tournament

Want to fill out the perfect bracket? Just head to the nearest copy machine and print up 18,446,744,073,709,551,616 brackets. Fill them all out with different scenarios, and you'll be assured of NCAA Tournament perfection!

Texas A&M vs. Utah State is a battle of the Aggies.

Wofford, with 1,350 students, is the smallest school in the tournament. They are also part of the only first-round matchup between teams that start with the same letter (they play Wisconsin).

There are 22 states represented in the names of the tournament teams: Kansas, Nevada, Iowa, Michigan, New Mexico, Maryland, Tennessee, Ohio, Oklahoma, Georgia, California, Florida, Texas, Minnesota, Kentucky, Wisconsin, Washington, Montana, Missouri, West Virginia, Arkansas, and Utah.

If Kansas and Kentucky face off in the final, as I predicted, it will be a rematch of the 2008 championship game coaches (Bill Self with Kansas and John Calipari with Memphis).

Oakland is not located in California (it's in Rochester, Michigan) and Sam Houston State is in Texas, but not in Houston.

The 15 seed is the place to be if you have a weird nickname: we've got the UC-Santa Barbara Gauchos, and the North Texas Mean Green.

hat tips: Miami Herald, BleacherReport

No comments:

Post a Comment